Gracious is the Lord, and righteous; our God is merciful.

The Lord preserves the simple; when I was brought low, he saved me.

Return, O my soul, to your rest; for the Lord has dealt bountifully with you.

Psalm 116:5-7

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Lord, You have been gracious to me.  Lord, I will call on you as long as I live (by your grace) because you have heard me when I cried out to you (vv.1-2).  Lord, when my heart was cold, when I served you in the darkness, when I went from Easter to Easter cold as ice, Christmas to Christmas hidden in a fog of my own sin, you did not stop being gracious to me.  You did not stop being full of compassion and mercy.  You intermingled blessing with chastisement.

You, when I was about to break apart inside, held me together by the power of your word.  You did not let my foot slip (Psalm 121).  Throughout that whole time I was still STANDING on the Rock, though I thought I would finally be cast away.

Lord, in your righteousness, you placed all of my sin on Your Son on the Cross.  When I thought  I was forsaken, I was free.  In my stupidity, I turned my back to you.  In my fear, I fled your call.  Yet, Lord, you preserved this simple, slow-hearted man.  In my desperation you saved me.

Lord, I bless you for the rest that only you can truly give.  I bless you that you have dealt so bountifully with me!  I am amazed that I am called now to return to my rest, trusting in you.  There is no God like you.  There is no God like you who can see the depths of our hearts and yet love us to the Heavens.

Bless the Lord from this time forth and forevermore!

