John Mayer gets it.

At the same time, he doesn’t have a clue how to resolve the sense of longing that he finds in his heart.  He’s brutally honest about his predicament in the lyrics to “Something’s Missing”:

I’m not alone, I wish I was… ‘Cause then I’d know, I’m down because… I couldn’t find a friend around to love me like they do right now…

Something’s missing, and I don’t know how to fix it… Something’s missing, and I don’t know what it is, no I don’t know what it is…

I can’t be sure that this state of mind is not of my own design… I wish there were some over the counter test for loneliness, for loneliness like this…

Mayer “gets it” because he knows there’s a problem in his soul, but he has no clue how to remedy the longing he feels in his heart.  He can’t understand why, even though he is surrounded by a multitude of people who love him, he feels so utterly alone.

He has everything this world has to offer, but doesn’t satisfy him.  It should, we think, but it doesn’t.

Do you ever wonder why this world and its possessions will not give you lasting peace?  The answer is because we were created for another World.  This world was never created to be our home, our final resting place.

The Patriarchs in the Old Testament understood this, and they were adamant about making it to their final resting place.

Egypt (in the Bible) represented slavery.  The Israelites went to Egypt, and God provided for them during a famine.  Yet, they were never meant to stay there.

The Patriarchs REFUSED to be buried there:

29And when the time drew near that Israel (Jacob) must die, he called his son Joseph and said to him… Do not bury me in Egypt, 30but let me lie with my fathers. Carry me out of Egypt and bury me in their burying place.” He answered, “I will do as you have said.” 31And he said, “Swear to me“; and he swore to him. Then Israel bowed himself upon the head of his bed. (Genesis 47)

24And Joseph said to his brothers, “I am about to die, but God will visit you and bring you up out of this land to the land that he swore to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob.” 25Then Joseph made the sons of Israel swear, saying, “God will surely visit you, and you shall carry up my bones from here.” 26So Joseph died, being 110 years old. They embalmed him, & he was put in a coffin in Egypt. (Genesis 50)

Jacob & Joseph (along with Abraham, etc.) refused to be buried in Egypt.  They were buried in the Promised Land (Canaan) because Egypt was not their home.  It was not their final resting place.  Their final resting place was the land Promised to them by God.  Therefore, as a symbolic act to show their descendants (and us) how crucial of a point this was, they made them take their dead bodies out Egypt & bury them in Canaan.

This was especially poignant for Joseph.  He said to the Israelites in Egypt, “God will surely visit you, and you shall carry up my bones from here.”

God will surely visit you.  That visitation from God was over 400 YEARS LATER!!

As for the bones of Joseph, which the people of Israel brought up from Egypt, they buried them at Shechem, in the piece of land that Jacob bought from the sons of Hamor the father of Shechem for a hundred pieces of money. (Joshua 24:32)

These bones had been laying around in a box for over 400 years, but it was important for the people of God to know that no matter what happened, they did not belong in Egypt.  God was surely going to visit them, and when he brought them out, Joseph’s bones were to go, too.

This world is not your home.  It was never meant to be.  The reason you (& John Mayer) feel a sense of uneasiness and uncertainty is because you were created for God–to know Him and to be used for His purposes through Jesus.

The reason you get bored in a relationship and think you need a new one is because, in reality, your heart longs for the Promised Land.  The reason you get tired of one car and want a new one is because your heart longs for the Promised Land.  The reason you give your heart, passion, and finances to one political candidate only to wind up disappointed and disillusioned is because politicians and political ideologies can never quench your soul’s thirst.  The reason you get obsessed with remodeling your home and getting new “everything” is because your heart longs for a final resting place.

And still, your heart remains in longing even after getting new “stuff.”

It’s because this is not your home.  You were made for Heaven, and until you realize that and come to rest in it, you will keep on saying,

“Something’s missing, and I don’t know what it is…”

